Terrell Scores First Career Civil War Series Win On Home Base Petaluma Speedway

Terrell Scores First Career Civil War Series Win On Home Base Petaluma Speedway

PETALUMA, CA (4-27-13) – Saturday night April 27th California's premier touring campaign for 360 cubic inch powered sprint cars, the Hoosier Racing Tires Civil War Sprint Car Series, made its first appearance at the Petaluma Speedway. When the final checkered flag flew on the night, former champion Bradley Terrell of Sebastopol celebrated his first career Civil War Series victory before a large crowd of hometown fans.

"This was a great win for us, and to get this one at home makes it even better," said Terrell. "Everything just went smooth all night. Luckily we started on the front row because the track was narrow and I knew it was going to be hard to pass."

A total of 37 cars packed the pit area of the Sonoma-Marin County Fairgrounds for Petaluma Speedway's first Civil War Sprint Car Series event of 2013. Although Terrell started on the pole of the feature event, he wasn't the first driver into the lead at the waving of the green flag.

Defending seven time Civil War Series Champion Andy Forsberg raced off the pole position into the lead of the 30-lap feature with Terrell following closely in his wake. The two leaders quickly reached the challenges of lapped traffic and after leading the first four laps of the race, Forsberg went side by with Terrell in a battle for the lead. The two drivers made contact as Terrell took over the top spot and Forsberg suffered a flat tire in the exchange and went to the rear of the field after making repairs.

Once in front, Terrell maintained the lead position with Sacramento's Billy Butler in tow and Prunedale's Justin Sanders along with Princeton driver Mason Moore. With 12 laps complete, Sanders overtook Butler for the bridesmaid position from Butler as the top runners continued to chase one another in traffic.

At the finish line, Terrell was followed by Sanders, Butler and Moore. Two time series champion Sean Becker of Roseville rounded out the top five, driving from the 11th place starting position.

"Andy got the jump on me at the start but I was able to stay right with him for those first five laps until we caught traffic and I got by him," added Terrell. "After I got out in front I knew we had the winning car and I just had to hit my marks. This was a great night for us, I can't thank my family and crew enough for their hard work."

Rounding out the top ten on Saturday night was former three time track champion Alissa Geving followed by former series champion Greg DeCaires, Herman Klein, Jake Morgan and Colby Wiesz.

In preliminary competition on Saturday, Geoff Ensign took the checkers in the B feature where he was followed by fellow transfers Mike Benson, Mason Moore, Jake Morgan, Steven Tiner and Zach Zimmerly. The first heat race of the evening was claimed by Billy Aton. Heat race two was won by Klein. Wayne Katon took the win in the third heat race of the night followed by Wiesz. Ensign was also the fast qualifier for the night with a 13:520.

Share this post